International URTI Grand Prix for Author’s Documentary

33rd International URTI Grand Prix for Author’s Documentary Arman Trophy


URTI celebrates, with the support of UNESCO and the entirety of the international audiovisual organisations, its 33rd International Grand Prix for Author’s Documentary. For the 2013 edition, the participation reached a new record with 317 documentaries representing 83 countries.

Registrations are open and the competition rewards the best author’s documentaries with 4 prizes: Grand Prix (3,000 dollars to the prize-winning director), Silver Medal, Bronze Medal and Martine Filippi Award for Discovery.

The Pre-selection Jury in Paris announces the list of the 10 finalist programmes benefiting from the international distribution of a brochure aiming to ensure their promotion and to support the sale of their rights.

The Final Jury, composed of TV professionals from all over the world, designates the winners during the Golden Nymph Ceremony of the 54th Monte-Carlo Television Festival, on Wednesday June 11th, 2014.
The competition is open to all the public and private television organisations as well as to the associations and institutions which devote themselves to the audiovisual, at the rate of two programmes by organisation at the most.

The participants are invited to submit their documentaries as from now for free before the deadline of Friday march 21st, 2014.

Calendar of the competition

16 January 2014 - Opening of the registrations
21 March 2014 - Deadline for registrations
14-17 April 2014 - Preselection Jury (Paris)
6-7 June 2014 - Final Jury (54th Monte-Carlo Television Festival)
• 8 June 2014 - URTI Grand Prix Ceremony (Monte-Carlo)
11 June 2014 - Golden Nymph Ceremony (54th Monte-Carlo Television Festival)


Official partners:


Media partners:

International URTI Grand Prix for Author's Documentary

Created in 1981 by Armand Lanoux, French writer, who was Vice-president of URTI, the International URTI Grand Prix for Author’s Documentary rewards documentaries which stand out by the technical and editorial quality, but also by the originality of the subject and of the expressed point of view. It favours the expression of the humanistic values of tolerance, mutual respect, peace, friendship and understanding between peoples.

The programmes accepted in the competition are selected by international television channels. A first preselection jury establishes the list of the ten programmes which get the statute of finalists. These finalist programmes will benefit from a promotional support aiming to provide their global distribution. 

The final jury is made up of a panel of professionals from the whole world (16 nations represented in 2012) and presided by a personality known for his action in the fields of culture, entertainment, politics, science or media. The final jury was notably presided by  Juliette Gréco, Fernando Arrabal, Javier Perez de Cuellar, Mario Vargas Llosa, Michel Petrucciani, Sir Yehudi Menuhin, Jorge Semprun, Yves Coppens, Frédéric Mitterrand, Jean-Christophe Rufin, Laure Adler, Gaston Kaboré, Vladimir Pozner, Dora Bouchoucha and Claude Lelouch.

The prize-winners’ list of the International URTI Grand Prix for Author’s Documentary is revealed during a gala evening organized in partnership with the Monte-Carlo Television Festival. Four distinctions are given out: the GRAND PRIX Arman Trophy, the silver Medal, the bronze Medal and the Martine Filippi prize for discovery.