International URTI Grand Prix for Author’s Documentary

Created in 1981 by Armand Lanoux, French writer, who was Vice-president of URTI, the International URTI Grand Prix for Author’s Documentary rewards documentaries which stand out by the technical and editorial quality, but also by the originality of the subject and of the expressed point of view. It favours the expression of the humanistic values of tolerance, mutual respect, peace, friendship and understanding between peoples. The programmes accepted in the competition are selected by international television channels. A jury establishes the list of the ten programmes which get the statute of finalists. These finalist programmes will benefit from a promotional support aiming to provide their global distribution. The competition is open to all the public and private television organisations as well as to the associations and institutions which devote themselves to the audiovisual, at the rate of two programmes by organisation at the most. 

The jury is made up of a panel of professionals from the whole world and presided by a personality known for his action in the fields of culture, entertainment, politics, science or media. The final jury was notably presided by Juliette Gréco, Fernando Arrabal, Javier Perez de Cuellar, Mario Vargas Llosa, Michel Petrucciani, Sir Yehudi Menuhin, Jorge Semprun, Yves Coppens, Frédéric Mitterrand, Jean-Christophe Rufin, Laure Adler, Gaston Kaboré, Vladimir Pozner, Dora Bouchoucha, Claude Lelouch, Youssou Ndour, Bernard Yerlès, Khadija Al Salami, Menelaos Karamaghiolis...

Every year, four distinctions are given out: the GRAND PRIX Arman Trophy (500 euros to the prize-winning director), the Silver Medal, the Bronze Medal, the Martine Filippi Prize for Discovery and the Digital Works Award.

This year, URTI celebrates, with the support of UNESCO and the entirety of the international audiovisual organisations, its 43rd International Grand Prix for Author’s Documentary - Arman Trophy.

Deadline for subscriptions: Friday, May 31st 2024.

Registration form